Horley Town FC
Horley Town FC

Programme Information

Club History

Horley Football Club was first affiliated to Surrey County FA in 1896.  In 1903 another local club by the name of Gatwick Rovers was formed and the two clubs merged in 1908 with Horley retaining its name.  Both these original clubs played in the same colours of red and black and it was not until 1912 that Horley adopted the colours of claret and blue that they still wear to this very day. Intermediate football was tasted for the first time in season 1925/26 following an appearance in the Surrey County Junior Cup Final in 1923/24 and winning the Surrey County Junior Charity Cup in 1924/25.

Post-war Era

Following the Second World War, Horley was faced with the prospect of losing its home at “The Kings Head” ground and set about finding a new home.  A local landowner by the name of Major A.L.N. Jennings became the Club’s benefactor (and President) following his generous decision to give the club 10.7 acres of land in Smallfield Road.  The land was held in trust for the people of Horley from 1947, in memory of those that died in the defence of their country, and the ground was appropriately named “The Defence”.Season 1950/51 saw Horley win the Surrey Intermediate League Eastern Section and seek election to the Surrey Senior League for season 1951/52.  This excursion into Senior football was short lived as the Club found themselves back in Junior football by season 1954/55.  Intermediate status was regained in 1956/57 season and in season 1957/58 they entered their first ever Youth team in the local Redhill & District League.

The Seventies

With the expansion of the village of Horley to a town the Club changed its name in 1974 to become Horley Town F.C.  During this spell in senior football, Horley Town enjoyed their most successful period culminating in the winning of the Surrey Senior League title and Surrey Senior League Challenge Cup in 1976/77.  The Club also reached the final of the Surrey Senior League Charity Cup in this season.

The club went on to compete in the London Spartan League and the Athenian League before returning to the Combined Counties League (formerly the Surrey Senior League).

The Modern Era

The early 1980’s saw the Club expand their interest in Youth football with the creation of Horley Town Minors.  This relationship has grown over the years and is the reason why the Club has evolved into a well respected “community club” providing football for the people of Horley irrespective of age, sex or race.In September 2003, Horley Town moved to their new ground, named “The New Defence” in deference to their old home, behind the Horley Adult Education Centre, which has now been demolished and replaced by the new Horley Leisure Centre.

The Club has been in the Combined Counties League Premier Division since 2006 but in 2019 changed to the Southern Combination League.

In addition to its Reserves and Youth teams, incorporates successful junior football teams at all age levels.

2013/14 saw Horley Town FC appoint Ex player and club stalwart defender Anthony Jupp as manager alongside former player Chris Weller. 2014/2015 season the Club had a very successful season finishing 6th in the League the highest position for years and the most ever points. The Club also had the league Top goal scorer Ashley Nadasan who scored 99 goals in the last two seasons before signing form League One side Fleetwood Town, in a three year professional contract.(Ashley is now at local side Crawley Town)  2015/16 was again another successful season for Town, but big changes came in the Close season with Anthony Jupp and Chris Weller standing down and experienced ex Dorking boss Glynn Stephens stepping in as manager. More work was completed on the ground with a further 52 seats fitted this time to the stand behind the goal. 2017/18 saw the club get through to the fourth Round of the FA Vase the furthest the club has even gone on narrowly losing to Chichester City.

After a very poor start to the season and crashing out of all the Cups in was a big disappointment for the Club that in January 2019 with the Club in a relegation place Glynn Stephens resigned and walked away from the Club. Ex manager Anthony Jupp was brought in to steady the ship and to try and avoid relegation on a temporary basis. For the 2019/20 season Anthony took over a permanent manager and the club changed league to the Southern Combination League Premier Division from the Combined Counties League Premier Division.







Surrey County Junior Cup Runners up                                  1923/24

Surrey County Junior Charity Cup Winners                                     1924/25

Surrey Intermediate League Eastern Section Winners             1950/51

Surrey Senior League                                                                     1976/77

Surrey Senior League Challenge Cup                                                 1976/77.  

Surrey Senior League Charity Cup Runners Up                       1976/77

Combined Counties league 1st Division Runners Up          2006/07

Combined Counties League Leading Scorers A Nadesan 2014/15

Combined Counties League Leading Scorers A Nadesan  2016/17



Home Counties Reserve League Champions                     1981/82

Youth Team

Southern Youth League Division Runners-up                    2012/13

Southern Youth League Challenge Cup Runners-up          2012/13


Surrey Veterans Cup Runners up                           1990/91/1995/96

Surrey Veterans Cup Winners                                 1992/93/1994/95




FA Cup          1st Qualifying Round - 1982–83, 1983–84, 2007–08, 2011–12, 2013-14                2019-20

FA Vase      4th Round 2017-2018






Manager: Anthony Jupp  Assistant Manager Dan Pedley

Coaches: Matt Chapman

Physio: Gail Selby   /       Chelsea Davey

Team From-

George Hyde    GK

James Wastell  GK          

Scott Robson    (Vice Captain)

Jack Poplett       

Adam Pullin                   (Captain)

Ryan Brackpool

James McGilligott

Sean O’Toole

Andy Hall

Russel Harvey

Lewis Taylor

Tony Halsey

Kerran Boylan

Chad Goulter

Dale Burgess

Alex Barbary

Ryan Smith              

Joe Flavien Howard

Karim Kamhouri

Sean O’Toole

Harold Sanchez

Mario Quiassaca

Notable former players

Nicky Forster

Ashley Nadesan  

Fleetwood Town  2016-2019       

Carlisle United 2018 (Loan)

Crawley Town 2019


Home: Claret and sky-blue shirts, sky-blue shorts, Claret socks

Green goalkeeper top

Away: White shirts/black shoulders and sides, white shorts, white socks

The New Defence has been the home of Horley Town FC since 2003. The main pitch is floodlit, and dominated by an impressive clubhouse building. There is a covered area immediately in front, with three rows of seats holding 100. In addition, bar and function facilities overlook the pitch from the upper floor of the building and provide an excellent elevated view through large double-glazed windows. The remainder of the ground has hard standing a small metal stands behind the goal at one end holding 52 seats and a wooden stand behind the far end goal. The turnstyles a situated at the car park end of the ground. There are ample parking facilities.

text box >>